Our blog has moved!

Dear loyal LDSWBR follower:

Happy News - LDSWBR has a new home! Please come visit us, tell us what you think, and let's talk books. Happy reading!

- Shanda, Sheila, Mindy, and Hillary

You should be automatically redirected in 8 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Thursday, May 20, 2010

39 Clues: The Maze of Bones by Rick Riordan

Book One "The Maze of Bones" 39 Clues

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Scholastic

Published: 2008

ISBN-13: 978-0-545-09054-4

Hardcover 220 pages

Reviewed by Mindy

FTC FYI: borrowed from library

Grace Cahill was a rich, powerful, and mysterious woman. Right before her death she changes her will and that change starts a fast-paced exciting adventure. Grace's grandkids Amy and Dan are orphans, their parents died years ago in a fire. They gather, along with many crazy members of their extended family, for the reading of Grace's will. In her will, Grace selects only certain members of her family to either take a million dollars each, or exchange it for a chance to find the "39 clues", which will lead to a source of unimaginable power. Amy and Dan decide to take the challenge, along with some ruthless and crazy family members. The first clue is given, and the race is on to find the second. Since their parents died so young, the kids don't know much about the mysterious Cahill family. They're hoping this quest can also give them the answers they need as well. Grace's butler William McIntyre has known the kids for years, and can not give them any help. However, he offers a couple words of advice and warns them not to trust anyone along their journey. Of course, Amy and Dan make rookie mistakes, like, trust those they shouldn't. And, it seems that whenever hints are discovered or they find a new lead, there is always a bad guy conveniently around to hear. That was what bothered me the most, but it didn't make it so I didn't enjoy the book any less.
"The Maze of Bones" is very clever, fun, and a very fast read. There is humor, action, puzzles, loyalty. I found what I liked the most was the relationship between Amy and Dan. Amy is older, shy, and smart while Dan is funny, mischievous, but very smart too. They really watch out for each other and when it comes to protecting each other, they would give it all up to do so.
What is think is neat about this series of books is that each book is written by a different author. The author of this book, however, wrote the outline for the rest of the books. So far there are eight in the series released, and there will be 10 total. Book 9: Storm Warning will be released May 25th 2010, and Book 10: Into the Gauntlet is set for Aug 31, 2010.

3 1/2 stars out of 5

I recommend Book 1 and have read Books 2: One False Note and 3: The Sword Thief. Started Book 4: Beyond the Grave yesterday.

Mr. Riordan also wrote the Percy Jackson series, which I loved.


  1. The cover and title caught my eye. Cool concept. I liked your honesty about what you both liked and did not like. I've been meaning to read the Percy Jackson series.

  2. Thank you. And Percy is definitely worth it! I enjoyed all five.